Turtle Bay, Birmingham

I’m sorry I’ve been a bit lax on here recently, this weekend I had the honour of being a maid of honour to a very good friend of mine, Mrs M. Not only that I have a super poorly 9 month old that has decided to grow a full set of teeth all in one go, leaving me to deal with a stroppy, snotty baby. The joy of motherhood having a snail trail run from your child’s nose, to your cheek and down to your chest…

Anywho, I managed to enjoy a baby free day with Mrs M a few days before her wedding day to get some last minute bits and enjoy a spot of lunch. We decided to try Turtle Bay – Caribbean eating and drinking. 

Both of us being child free we started with “Happy Hour”; 2 for 1 cocktails; I ordered the Marley Mojito – a watermelon and rum Mojito made with ginger beer and Midori. Mrs M ordered a One Love – a passion fruit martini with coconut. Yummers!

  
Both completely different flavours but so refreshing! We skipped starters and ordered from the lunchtime menu; I chose the pulled jerk chicken bun – jerk marinated pulled chocked on a brioche bun with a sweet onion chutney and herb Mayo, served with seasoned fries and slaw.

 
Wow the jerk chicken was tasty, apart from a nasty chunk of gristle I found in the centre, the chicken was tender and seasoned well with a really nice kick of heat. The slaw was crunchy and fresh and the fries also had a nice heat running through them. I love brioche; the slight sweet taste really complimented the chicken, especially with the crunchy sweet onion chutney that topped the bun. Despite Turtle Bay being a chain, they really do produce some authentic tasting Caribbean food. 

Service is a little too quick for my liking, the food took less than 10 minutes from ordering to get to our table; normally this isn’t something I would moan about, but it probably means a lot of the dishes have been prepped and are sitting ready to be ordered as apposed to being cooked fresh. I understand a dish like pulled chicken would have to be cooked for hours and pulled ready, but Mrs M ordered a curry pot and that came out just as fast. There’s no harm in waiting 15-20 minutes per course in my opinion.

Other than that, a great meal with my soon to be married friend. 

Signing off.

Leave a comment